The days leading up to the concert were cold and wet. But the thought of having my sister by my side made the day seem more bearable, and the fact that she had to call in sick  … Having fun was not an option.

My sister and I arrived at the picturesque concert venue – Kirstenbosch. We were blown away by how serene and idyllic it was.

kb (2)
Some of the picturesque beauty that Kirstenbosch has to offer! Image by WeLove

We sat on a bench as we waited for the doors to open. After forming a brief line, we were in. We set up our blanket and laid out our picnic basket under grey skies as we eagerly awaited the music of John Wizards to warm our hearts (getting actually warm seemed out of the question).

concert
The concert venue at Kirstenbosch. Unfortunately, not all clear skies. Image by Pascal Wiljer

After an hour, the band took to the stage. The intro sounded like something that Swedish House Mafia had come up with. And with that, they made a fan out of me. This Cape Town band has a distinctive sound  that’s a fusion of 1980s funk, Afro-jazz, reggae, soukous  and uniquely South African genres (maskandi, mbaqanga & Shangaan) ,which sets this band apart. There were some audio problems because I struggled to hear what lead singer, John Withers (vocalist and guitarist) was saying. The enthusiasm of keyboardist and guitarist, Geoff Brink was what made me realise how passionate this band was. Brink, was in the zone.He did this trance like step, which took me on this surreal journey to a place of endless possibilities. Geoff Brink, was the unofficial hype man.

‘Limpopo’, the song which made me a fan within a matter of seconds.

John Wizards had an amazing set which included ‘Lusaka by Night’ and ‘Tet Lek Schremp’. There last song was ‘Muizenberg’, but after hearing how sad we were to see them go, they performed another song.

john wizards
John Wizards: (L-R) Alex Montgomery (bassist and keyboardist), Geoff Brink (unofficial hype man), John Withers. Image by Sumi Singh

My feet were itching during the first few seconds of hearing them play and I started tapping my feet, bobbing my head and clapping my hands as I let the sound of John Wizards take over. Although we were outside, it didn’t really feel that cold because this band came with a passion that burned like fire. It was infectious and it left me with this warm feeling of being entertained, and somehow wanting more.

This was my/our first time to attend a concert as part of the Summer Sunset Concert Series.Braving the weather (with my raincoat) to see John Wizards live was the best decision I made since being on holiday. Having my sister by my side, made it that much better.

*John Wizards performed at Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens on Sunday, 27 March 2016*

by Christine Diampovisa 

 

22 thoughts on “Concert review: John Wizards

  1. Hi Christine 🙂 I’m glad you had a fun time with your sister. I listened to the video and it made me think of the ’80s band OMD or Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark –
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-music&field-keywords=Omd&rh=n%3A77197031%2Ck%3AOmd&ajr=0
    And this other more recent one, but I can’t remember their name! (Maybe it will come to me later?). Have you heard of Tangerine Dream? –
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_ime_c_0_3?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-music&field-keywords=tangerine+dream&sprefix=Tan%2Cdigital-music%2C338
    All the best my friend. 🙂 🎹 💜 🎵 🎶

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Faith 🙂 … I’m so so very sorry for the late reply.

      Thanks for stopping by. This is the first time I’ve come across these bands. I have listened to both bands, but Tangerine Dream gets my vote. Thanks for the recommendation friend.

      Hope I’m forgiven? Keep well dear ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Why, thank you! It was a phenomenal event 🙂 They will definitely be seeing more of me at their other gigs lol. Nah, it’s crazy how these things work themselves out. I’m glad you do – I have a friend who doesn’t see the appeal of music … yiip!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

