Happy New Year everyone, I hope it was more eventful than my new year. I wish you love, happiness, blessings and prosperity.

When I was younger, Dragon Ball Z was all the rage. If you missed an episode, you would feel left out because everyone would speak about it the next day at school. My brothers were a little obsessed with Dragon Ball Z and they began collecting tazos.

Tazos - blog post

For me, these tazos cost a small fortune because they were in Lays chips and not in something more affordable like Crack-A-Snack.  I also began collecting them so that I could play tazos with my brothers. But all that changed when my pastor happened to see what Dragon Ball Z was all about.

He told the parents in his congregation that this was witch craft and our parents should throw these satanic symbols away. I was outraged! The amount of saving that went into collecting these tazos … I could have gotten three packets of chips and had a party, but I chose Lays.  And here, this man, just expected me, us to throw it all away. I was not going down without a fight.

twistedsister-splash
The anthem for my revolution – Twisted Sister Image by Pop Matters

 

“We’ve got the right to choose and 
there ain’t no way we’ll lose it
this is our life, our song
we’ll fight the powers that be just
don’t pick our destiny ’cause
you don’t know us, you don’t belong” 

We’re Not Gonna Take It -Twisted Sister

I tried to stage a Stay-Away to show my parents and the pastor that I was angry, but obviously that didn’t fly in my house. About two weeks later I was back in church, singing the church songs with the biggest smile on my face because I enjoyed church more than playing with my tazos.

If you have any stories of where you overreacted, then please feel free to share.

Let your minds wander at the possibilities of tomorrow.

Christine Diampovisa xx

If you have any stories of where you overreacted, then please feel free to share

*this post is about me overreacting to something my pastor said, not a chance for you to attack my religion. If you feel inclined to do this, please refrain from commenting on this post*

Cover image courtesy of Shayari

6 thoughts on “The day I despised my pastor

  1. Overreacting is something of a ‘clink’ in my character. Road rage. Computer Rage. Politics Rage. Religion Rage. You name it I’ve probably overreacted to it. One day my wife said to me ‘I am afraid on day you will have stroke and there is a thing I can do to stop you’…Wow! That pulled me up short. Still working on calming down. After all it is such a waste of resources….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is 🙂 … Although, I tend to overreact when it comes to telling my friends stories, but not on my blog. Here I try to be as honest as possible.

      I hope you’ve calmed down.

      Ps: do you have any children in your life?! because my baby brother sure knows how to test my patience . Thanks for stopping by xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi.
        I’m approaching 65 so have an excuse for overreacting and being quick to make wrong judgements (lol)….I don’t think I’ve ever been calm (well it stops me being bored).
        My daughters assure me that younger brothers do such things naturally. My son insists he was merely trying to express his own opinions (they know have children of their own to cope with).
        Nice exchanging thoughts with you.
        Best wishes

        Like

Leave a Reply

